Election: Winners and Losers

First round of fire crackers in our neighborhood

The new mayor in South Taiwan was the first who declared victory.

Another one shouted out, “My first love is my wife. My second are you people!” The crowd cheered, “Kiss her, kiss her.” He did.

One by one, the losing candidates went on stage in their headquarters, “I apologize for not having worked hard enough, for not having given you, my people, a good enough report card.” They bowed deeply and long. A wife covered her mouth, holding back a sob.

Very soon, small trucks circled the streets, the loud speakers played over and over, xie xie da jia, thank you, everyone. It was dark and no one can tell who that was.

A group of folks marched through the neighborhood in the dim street light, chanting in unison, “[so and so] thanks you!” They waved white flags, happily.

One thought on “Election: Winners and Losers

  1. I love this: ”I apologize for not having worked hard enough, for not having given you, my people, a good enough report card.”

    What a sweet and humble thing for politicians to say… whether they mean it or not!

Leave a comment