Dinners for a Week – Tuesday (Family Tradition)

A family passes a lot of its tradition down through cooking. My grandma loved winter-melon soup for summer, stewed for many hours with pork belly, ginger, and scallions, until the melons melted. But my husband’s family always boiled the same melon in salty water, that’s it. I tried, I will eat it out of my love for him.

But perhaps my grandma’s soup will end with me. My kids eat it out of their love for me. They’d rather have chicken noodle soup from a can, I know.

Top left down: water melon, a water plant called jiao bai (zizania family, whatever that is), purple Chinese egg plant, a type of green with vines called dragon’s beard, winter melon cubes for soup.

    • marion
    • May 29th, 2012

    Curt loves Giao bai, but hardly anyone in the US knows what it is, or it’s not in season.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

